Hunger Mountain

Winter 2023

Faculty and students in the Writing Program at Vermont College of Fine Arts are the creators of Hunger Mountain. HM’s editors share VCFA’s belief that the arts are central to the human experience and have the ability not only to reflect reality but also to create it. Our annually revolving masthead enmeshes the diverse literary communities of our faculty editors and contest judges with aesthetic flexibility. Guided by our steady ethics, we aim to: promote voices that have gone unheard, expand our representation and scope, and critically examine our contemporary culture and field. Our student readers are the future of the literary world, and all of us take great pride in discovering new voices, as well as publishing the freshest work from established artists.

Issues / / Masthead
Editor-in-Chief and Fiction Editor

Adam McOmber

Poetry Editor

Tomás Q. Morín

Creative Nonfiction Editor

Sue William Silverman

Translations Editor

Allison Grimaldi Donahue

Managing Editors

Montserrat Andrée Carty

Myrth Killingsworth

Jonathan Smith

Senior Proofreaders

Jenna Crowder

Stephen Welter


Juliet Way-Henthorne

Matt Nilsen

Laurie Babcock

Jade Rolof

Annelise Schoups

Leslie Stainton

Staff Readers

Lois Anne

Elena Aponte

Amy Asay

Robert Atwood

Susan Ayres

Laurie Babcock

Lisa M. Barr

Armando Batista

Deanne Battle

Mary Beath

Alison Braid

Rhonda Britten

Brandon Brown

Rowan Buckton

Jeremy Butler

Neil Corbett

Yolanda Crawley

John Carpi

Jenna Crowder

Santino DallaVecchia

Erin Evans

Colleen Fairchild

Lisa Folkmire

Lizzy Fox

Sarah Frier

Taylor Gianfrancisco

Nancy L. Glass

Jen Graney

Micaela Green

Abigail Greenbaum

Marc M. Gumbin

Amy McIntyre Kramer

Tess Lloyd

Kristen Lynch

Jake Lyon

Kye Maas

Susan Mack

Emily Fortune McArdle

Linda Michel-Cassidy

Lee Mirkovic

Daniel Morgan

Claire Muraoka

Amanda Murphy

Lauren Myers-Hinkle

Eleonora Natilii

Nerissa Nields

Matt Nilsen

Forest R. Oliver

Kiefer Partridge

Sasha Pfau

Sarah Plimpton

Andrew Polewarczyk

Mystery Post

C. Rizleris

Tony Robles

Jade Rolof

Linda Romano

Lexi Rosen

Marty Ross-Dolen

Paul Rozario-Falcone

Mishi Saran

Valentyn Smith

Lacy Snapp

Stephanie R. Spong

Leslie Stonebraker

Jep Streit

MorganEve Swain

Diana Norma Szokolyai

Gina Thayer

Rebecca A. Thompson

Lea Tomaswick

Katia D. Ulysse

Bridget Verhaaren

Juliet Way-Henthorne

Stephen Welter

Carol Willis

Jocelyn Winn

Social Media Specialist

Juliet Way-Henthorne

Cover Artist
paper texture